Poetica Poetry : Challenge #1

Greetings and welcome to Poetica Poetry Challenges… A few friends suggested I start a challenge group here, so here I am… I hope you enjoy the inspirational challenges I offer you.

Every week I will post 2 challenges, a not-so-hard-one and a more challenging theme. Feel free to do one or both. Post poetry on your page and tag Poetica Challenges and leave you Url in the comments below.

 

Most of all, have fun!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Challenge #1

 Inspiration Quote

Angels have no philosophy but love. Terri Guillemets

Where does this quote take you?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Challenge #2 

Wake Up Dreaming

If you could fall asleep and wake in your dream world… what would it look like? What would be happening? What would the people be like?

What about technology? Old? New? A mixture? None?

Where would you go… who would you visit?

 

Here is a chance to be totally  off-the-wall with your writing…. anything goes!

A few inspirational prompts… to use as you wish….

utopia – (Ideally perfect state; especially in its social and political and moral aspects)

 

dystopian – (State in which the conditions of life are extremely bad as from deprivation, oppression or terror)

 

multiverse –( cosmology) an ensemble of universes, each (apart from ours) causally disconnected from or unobservable by us)

 

empyrean – (Of or relating to the sky or heavens – The apparent surface of the imaginary sphere on which celestial bodies appear to be projected)

 

Chimerical – Produced by a wildly fanciful imagination

annwn- (Welsh mythology) the other world; land of fairies

empyrean- Of or relating to the sky or heavens- Inspiring awe

 

comic

 future

facets

alternative

 

 

About Soulsongs of Sharonlee

I am the conductor of my dreams …I designate the roles compose the themes… I chart the course the chapters I write and navigate the direction as my eyes close at night… I create the fantasies pave the trail and harmonize the refrains for nightmares are not invited on my midnight train…

Posted on June 25, 2014, in challenge, Poetica, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My poem for Challenge #1 Inspiration Quote

    Divine Guidance

    Forces beyond human control
    Divine Providence
    spiritual guidance
    luck of the Irish
    God

    call it what you will

    a urgent energy that lingers
    in the subconscious soul
    … hungers for the flavours
    of celestial transcendence…

    paradox of our times
    that cosmic realisation
    comes in cryptic
    guise…

    few know the pebbled paths of life all led
    to one realisation… one ultimate destination
    one mantra for all
    equality

    Angels have no philosophy but love
    and brave is a man
    who dares
    to look the Devil in the face
    and tell him he is a Devil, daemon of
    the material world

    My thoughts lay as
    shattered shards of green glass
    each answer tags a question
    waiting to be asked
    and answered in turn

    But where are the definitive answers we all ask
    … we all seek divine guidance
    from places varied and vast…
    … could it be the answer
    lies in one’s heart.
    *
    Sharonlee©

  2. Challenge # 2

    Chimerical Scenes

    I woke from surreal cloudscape dream
    to a déjà vu eerie and empyrean
    a world unlike I’d ever seen
    … except for in my whimsical dreams…

    Chimerical scenes painted in pastel hues
    merging shades of violet and midnight blue
    visions in future facets of yet to be
    annwn images of transcendental mythology…

    a new world where my will was the only law
    … a global peace not known before
    a paradise of utopianism
    composed in yin & yang…
    across the earth barriers dissolved
    as all races raised their voices
    and in harmony….sang

    time-warp-portals open at my touch…
    … I bend hours to my command
    transported over distances
    to far off foreign lands…
    no time zone stops my eagerness
    no boarders bar my way
    no outdated policies
    chain the freedom of each day…

    there is no rich or poor or hungry
    no homeless walk the street
    fruit trees grow on every corner
    the air is fresh and sweet…

    I dreamt I woke from cloudscape dream
    to a surreal world chimerical and empyrean
    a world unlike I’d ever seen
    … except for in my whimsical dreams…

    SharonleeGoodhand©

Leave a comment